(Mon - Fri): 08:30 AM - 05:00 PM

Call Us For An Assessment Of Your Case (717) 832-9824

Menu

Motorcycle Accident FAQ's

More times than not, a motorcycle accident can result in a trip to the hospital for one or all parties involved due to the severity of the injuries and accident. However, it is always important to seek medical attention after even suffering minor injuries an accident. It is possible that that your pain will not start to present itself until a day or more after your accident. Seeking medical attention will also help document your injuries and assist in maximizing the settlement in your claim.
The statute of limitations to file a claim in Pennsylvania is two years from the date of the accident. It is best to contact an attorney and file a claim well before the two-year timeframe is exhausted.
No, you should not accept any type of offer from the other driver’s insurance company without consulting with an accident attorney first. If an insurance company is willing to offer a settlement so quickly without an attorney involved, it is likely that it is much less than what you are truly due for the damages you have suffered. If you accept an offer, you can no longer file a claim to collect additional damages if your injuries are more serious or have additional pain and suffering. Compass Personal Injury’s experienced personal injury attorneys can help you navigate any settlement offer and advise whether it is valid.
If you are able, it is always a good idea to take pictures of not only your vehicle, but also the other vehicle(s) involved and the scene of the motorcycle crash itself. Be sure to capture as many angles, as possible, to help paint a picture of the extent of the damage and what occurred. If you are unable to take pictures, due to an injury, a friend or family member can always assist in taking pictures of the location and damages after the accident.
Yes, you can still file an injury claim if you weren’t wearing a helmet. The helmet laws in PA state that you are not required to wear a motorcycle helmet under the following scenarios:
  • Over 21 years of age who has had their motorcycle license for at least 2 full years.
  • Over 21 years of age who completed a PennDOT/Motorcycle Safety Foundation approved motorcycle rider safety course.
  • Driver or passenger of a 3-wheeled motorcycle with an enclosed cab
It is always a responsible and smart precaution to wear a helmet, however, if you meet the above criteria, the decision to not wear a helmet should not impact your right to recover compensation for the injuries you suffered. It is important to contact a motorcycle accident lawyer because insurance companies may try to place the blame of the accident on you if you were not wearing a helmet even if it had nothing to do with the accident itself
Regardless of fault, you should report an accident to your insurance company as soon as you are able after the accident has occurred. However, be sure to contact an attorney before making a recorded statement or signing any documentation regarding the accident.
Under our No Fee Guarantee, at Compass Personal Injury, you won’t owe us anything unless we win your claim!
Compass Legal Group - Business Law & Personal Injury Lawyer - Harrisburg, Pennsylvania

Call Us For An Assessment Of Your Case
(717) 832-9824

Were You Injured On An Unsafe Property?

We are trusted advisors who will communicate honestly, approach the issue creatively from every angle to offer options, and ultimately, give 100% to deliver a resolution. Our priority will always be people and relationships as we have maintained connections with some of our clients for over a decade.

Follow Us On

Accessibility Accessibility
× Accessibility Menu CTRL+U